RCMAR Mission Statement

The Resource Centers for Minority Aging Research (RCMAR) is a national initiative to improve the health of minority Americans through scholarship, better public health interventions, and by fostering and mentoring the next generation of minority scholars.

RCMAR is an initiative of the National Institutes on Aging.

RCMAR Leadership

Each RCMAR is led by a Principal Investigator who oversees at least three RCMAR cores at his or her Center. Each RCMAR can involve one or several academic institutions. Click on the Center links above for information about the leadership of each RCMAR Center.

Deep South Research Center for Minority Aging Research (Deep South)
Director: Kathryn L. Burgio, PhD

Latino Aging Research Resource Center (LARRC)
Director: W. Ladson Hinton, MD
Co-Directors: Heather Young, PhD, RN, FAAN
Sergio Aguilar-Gaxiola, MD, PhD

Center for Health Improvement for Minority Elders (CHIME)
Director: Carol M. Magione, MD, MSPH
Co-Director: O. Kenrik Duru, MD, MSHS

National Coordinating Center*
Director: Steve Wallace, PhD
Co-Director: Nina Harawa, PhD, MPH
Director Emeritus: Janet Frank, DrPH

Center for Aging in Diverse Communities (CADC)
Director: Anna M. NĂ¡poles, MPH, PhD

Native Elder Research Center (NERC)
Director: Spero M. Manson, PhD
Co-Director: Dedra S. Buchwald, MD

Michigan Center for Urban African American Aging Research (MCUAAAR)
Director: James S. Jackson, PhD
Co-Director: Peter A. Lichtenberg, PhD, ABPP

University of Southern California RCMAR (USC RCMAR)
Director: Dana Goldman, PhD
Co-Director: Julie Zissimopoulos, PhD

Our Structure

RCMAR centers located across the United States engage in scholarship and mentor emerging scholars. The National RCMAR Coordinating Center is housed at the UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, within the UCLA Fielding School of Public Health. The seven funded RCMAR centers of 2012-2017 are:

University of Alabama at Birmingham
Morehouse School of Medicine
Tuskegee University
University of Alabama
Deep South

University of California, Davis

University of California, Los Angeles
Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science
National Coordinating Center*

University of California, San Francisco

University of Colorado, Denver
University of Washington, Seattle

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Wayne State University

University of Southern California